It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

With modernization and revolution in technology, large supermarkets and online shopping are increasingly getting popular. The younger generation prefers to shop from these newer platforms over local shops. This essay outlines the effects of this growing practice and what precautions can improve the situation for local businesses.

Supermarkets contain all the household amenities such as food, cleaning items, crockery and decoration pieces, all under one roof. People go to these supermarkets as it is significantly convenient to shop from one place than ten different shops. Similarly, with improvements in the internet technology, people buy things like dresses and shoes online while sitting at home, adding to the convenience factor. However, this trend significantly affects the income and business of local shopkeepers, which, in turn, affects their personal lives. Less income leads to frustration, household conflicts and makes it difficult for these people to survive.

Some people say, this situation could be improved if supermarkets are built in cities only. However, it is impractical to occlude the growth of businesses. Therefore, it is more pertinent for local shopkeepers to expand their businesses gradually. They should try to increase the variety of items in their shops. For example, a local vegetable shop should try to add fruits in its inventory. Moreover, local shopkeepers should also try to market their shops locally. They can do this by announcing discounts such as buy one get one free any other prize schemes like lotteries. Finally, it is the moral duty of individuals as well to support the shops in their neighbourhood by buying daily household items such as soap, dishwasher and lentils from them.

To conclude, although supermarkets and online shopping are significantly convenient, they affect the day to day income of local businesses significantly. By broadening the product range, engaging in local marketing and encouraging community support, local shopkeepers can improve their situation and sustain their businesses.