It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, while others believe the opposite. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a heated debate that hosting an overseas sports event is wasting the national budget or vice versa. Although I understand the rationale of those advoating for the former view, I am favor in the latter option.

It is understandable why some think it is not worthful to spend money on organizing sports event in a international scale. One of reasons is a reduction of the quality of the stadium because the large scale of such events allows more and more people to join in, affecting directly on the ground or the facilities there. For example, after a football match, the natural grass in the stadium is severely destroyed , recovering this damage requires the government to spend a large amount of money and time. Another reason is that this practice can cause some problems to the local citizens’ lives. For example, people living nearby the building taken place this kind of event need to face to noise pollution or traffic jams, which maybe interfere in their working or study.

However, I am personally support in holding this kind of event, as doing so offer several benefits relating to robust the country economy and a increase in popularity. Regarding the former, doing so can attract more tourist for the country. This is because people taking part in the events tend to stay longer than and occasionaly explore that country, thus offering more customers for the stores or shops, which help these develop and contribute to the national GDP so that the government can use that money to address the problems stemming from the events. Beyond that, the nation can gain more popularity, which enables it to develop their tourism, attracting more foreign investments and tourists. As a result, there will be a surge in the living standards there, leading to a higher satisfaction of citizens.

In conclusion, I acknowledge that avocates of celebrating events such as football World Cup or Olympic Games being such a waste of the national budget may base their opinion on the fact that doing so would affect the facilities and the citizens lives’ quality. However, I contend that using money for this kind of event supply the country popularity and the robust economic growth.