It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, while others believe the opposite.

The financial burden of international events such as the Olympic Games and Football World Cup can be substantial. There are individuals who argue that it is better to spend this money elsewhere, while others postulate that benefits of allocating budget to this type of event far outweigh its drawbacks. This essay will first comprehensively elaborate both views and then conclude that it concurs with the proponents of hosting these events.

One of the main reasons to host international events is the financial profits they bring. Although the initial investments required to build infrastructures such as stadiums and hotels are considerable, at the end, the tournaments yield substantial amounts of money for the host country. Another advantage of hosting such global events is the promotion of the culture and the tourism industry of that country. Since there are millions of people watching from their homes alongside those who travel to spectate or participate in the competitions, the host country is able to advertise its attractions. This will benefit the country in the long run as the number of tourists in the following years will increase.

The antagonists however accentuate the negative aspects and emphasize that hosting these events is an unnecessary financial expense. They believe there are many areas that come first when it comes to allocating funds. Moreover, they postulate that the infrastructures built for these events will become obsolete and will not be used after the competition is finished. As an example, Qatar hosted the 2022 World Cup and after the competition ended the majority of the built stadiums had to be demolished since there was no use for them afterwards.

To conclude, both sides presented compelling arguments denoting the positive aspects including the financial and cultural benefits and the negative aspects such as the initial financial burden and the usability of the infrastructure in the long term . Both arguments considered, since many developed countries already have the necessary infrastructures to host such events, it will be a boon for their economy and culture if they host these international competitions. The short and long term advantages of these events are compelling and will benefit that country for many years.