It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, people tend to feel that buying materialistic things would be considered a significant development in their lives. It has also been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. While there are certain advantages like a confidence boost and a sense of pride after buying these things, I believe that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages.

The biggest advantage of this development would be a morale boost in ourselves. For example, a man who has worked hard in his life and also stayed away from his family would feel very proud of his sacrifices whenever he purchases a car, TV, or a fridge. It would instill a lot of confidence in him as he has bought some valuable things from his hard work and grit. He would see this as a significant development in his life as before 4-5 years he could have only dreamt about it.

There are certain disadvantages for the same as people are considering this development as the sole purpose in their life. People are now more inclined towards buying materialistic things and consider it as a significant development. Though it might be true, other achievements are more important than buying these things like showing personal growth, being more down-to-earth, and showing respect to poor and elder people. This type of development could be more fruitful for a person than showing development by buying a car, a TV, and a fridge.

In conclusion, although buying materialistic things instills self-confidence, taking it solely as a significant development would not be right as other factors are more important to consider such as showing respect to elders and being down-to-earth.