It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

In this day and age, owing a car, a TV, and a fridge has become significantly common. It is generally accepted that being in possession of consumer goods increasingly confers more benefits than drawbacks. I am firmly of the opinion that advantages of this trend far outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several a notable drawbacks of owning possessions. The first and foremost demerit is associated with environmental impact, as all cars generally generate carbon dioxide in which results pollution except from electric vehicles which produce incredibly less amount of pollution compared with typical cars. As pollution increases, this can contribute to severe consequences, such as global warming and drying some kind of valuable plants. Secondly, another disadvantage of being in possession of consumer goods is linked to economic inequality and financial stress because not everyone has enough money to buy these items. As a result, they may go into debt that can be very stressful and uncomfortable feeling.

On the other hand, wanting to own a car, a fridge, and a TV have significant advantages. The main benefit has to do with improved standard of living and comfort. For instance, cars can conserve your precious time because they are faster than just going on foot. As for TV, it contributes to knowing the latest news and plays a role in entertainment. If you are bored, it is an excellent option to turn on the TV. From my perspective, this choice helps people to avoid monotony.

To sum up, owning to consumer goods like cars, TV, and fridge have obvious positive sides, it also presents some clear negative sides. Having considered both sides, it is evident that advantages of this trend far outweigh its disadvantages, owing to improved standards of life and comfort.