It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

Car, TV, and Fridge have become necessities for an individual’s life by providing convenience and entertainment. It’s widely believed that each individual desires to own these items, as they make life more convenient. While increased demand for such items can cause pressure on natural resources and contribute to climate change, the benefits – improved quality of life and greater convenience – far outweigh the disadvantages.

In the modern era cars, tv and fridge are regarded as essential tools, as they cover basic needs of individuals. Producing these items for 8 billion people can pose a certain threat for natural resources as they are required in the manufacturing. One of the risks is high energy consumption, manufacturing those goods uses a lot of energy mainly from fossil fuels, this increases a threat for greenhouse gas emissions, as it releases certain gases into the atmosphere that negatively affects the environment and overall causes air pollution.

On the contrary, by manufacturing those goods people can live in convenience. Cars nowadays have become one of the most essential items. More than half of the world has it, as it helps people to travel around the globe, therefore, it is regarded as a basic need by improving the quality of life. Television and fridges also serve as necessities for the modern generation. TV can be used in multiple areas, as educational tools or entertainment for youths. For instance, children can watch interesting movies or documentaries in their leisure time, by both improving knowledge and being entertained. Another item is the fridge that also serves as the essential need of people, as it helps them to store food in high temperatures, without being spoiled.

To conclude, I firmly believe that while there are certain drawbacks, notably threat to climate change and natural resources, they are far outweighed by the benefits.