In many countries, students' concentration in the classroom has decreased. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions?

In our technology-driven world, it has become increasingly difficult for students to concentrate their focus for assignments and lessons, regardless of their intelligence. While the primary reason of this problem is modern technologies and overusing them, I assume that the most effective approach to tackle this issue is regulations and strictions for utilizing them.

One major problem associated with a lack of concentration is excessive usage of technologies, in particular mobile phones. They feature themselves a vast range of unhealthy content and information on social media platforms, which not only affect young people’s academic performance, but also deteriorate their attention span, failing to focus for a long time. A good case in point is Instagram, which is the most popular and compelling platform in the internet. Numerous people as well as seniors run their private profiles on this platform for useless content, wasting their significant amount of time, leading to severe health problem – eye strain, obesity, immobility – reducing attention span and focus.

However, one effective approach to solve this problem is limiting usage of technologies. Through this way, students can restore their attention span considerably and prevent from serious health issues. As a result, they are able to improve their lifestyles, cognitive performances, and be busy with lively activities instead of mindless scrolling. For example, students who utilize their mobile phones as a study tool in their lessons with limitations no longer face the challenge of concentrating focus. Instead, they enhance their memory, critical thinking, and consolidate their attention span by reading books and newspapers.

To conclude, much as technology is reducing the attentions of students in classrooms now, they can restore their focus with regulations and fixed time limits.