The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In a contemporary world, there has been an increasing trend of many big companies storing individual’s personal data. Opinions are divided on whether the advantages of doing such activity outweigh its disadvantages. In my opinion, although storing data facilitates certain merits, I believe that data leakage can become a major issue in modern world.

To begin with, one of the major issues in storing data is the threat of scammers. Many companies these days often store customer personal details in data bank for their own convenience. It is helpful in accessing customer names and address, date of birth, and also different account numbers. When such private information is leaked, there is a high chance of cybercrime involvement, resulting in online bullying, scams, and creating unnecessary stress. For example, losing personal data stored in deliveries companies such as Amazon, E-bay, and DHL might leak client bank details resulting in unwanted fund transfer.

On the other hand, storing such information comprises certain benefits. Firstly, it enables firms to understand personal preference and choices. When customers browse certain product or service, companies become aware of their behaviour pattern and are able to recommend similar services according to their interest enhancing reliability, consistency, and flexibility. Moreover, it is also helpful for government officials in providing public services. For instance, during the time of emergency or pandemic, authorities are able to access necessary detail giving them a clear pathway for focus and action.

However, I believe that it is important to understand that storing data raises ethical concerns as storing information online violet consumer right to privacy.

Having considered both perspectives carefully, I firmly believe that, although companies and government gain certain benefits, customer information leakage is a major issue raising concerns on privacy and confidentiality.