It is a good idea for people to continue working in their old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

It has long been a debatable issue whether the elderly should continue to enter the labor force after retirement if they want to do so. From my perspective I completely advocate for this idea due to the tremendous benefits to themselves, their family and the society.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the elderly can maintain their mental and physical health by keeping working. After retirement, there are many retirees who suffer from many diseases resulting from the sedentary lifestyle such as cardiovascular disease or bone and joint diseases. By letting senior citizens continue working they would have more chances to do physical activities as an effective way to stay healthy. Moreover, the older generation also have a sense of identity. When joining the workforce, they would find the meaning of life as they are still able to create tangible values to contribute for the betterment of society. Therefore, their minds would be fulfilled with positive thoughts, evaluating the risks of depression or anxiety and maintaining their mental well-being as well

Another primary reason why older people should resume working has to do with finance. Being able to work means they are capable of generating income or creating tangible stuff through agricultural work or gardening. As a result, it could help them no longer depend on their offspring, thus eliminating the financial burden on their families. On top of that, having senior employees can also solve the issue of the declining workforce in many countries with an aging population. They are considered as knowledgeable and experienced workforce , supplying the society with an additional source of high-quality workers. For example, in Japan, the senior laborers are an important labor force since they account for nearly one-third of the human capital, contributing nearly 20% to the country’s GDP. Besides, more old people working can save the government a part of the monthly subsidy for retirees, which can be allocated to other urgent problems instead.

In conclusion, allowing retirees who are physically and mentally fit to keep working is a positive development since it remains the senior citizens mentally and physically active as well as offers a great financial assistance to their family and the society as a whole.