It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

It is true that the situation of media influence on people’s lives has become increasingly common in the modern world. This trend has several main benefits and drawbacks, which I will discuss in this essay and try to determine its effects on the population as a whole.

Everyone will agree that in today’s fast-pace world those who control information control the world. From that statement we got the very first and the main factor of everyone’s life media dependence. This can lead to some pros on the one hand and to obvious cons on the other. It is worth mention that getting necessary information in time is a key to success not only in business, but also in one’s private life. It is strictly important in our information-depend world to get updated and verified data on time in order to run business effectively. Another key factor of positive media influence is the opportunity to get different points of view on the same social and economic processes in one’s country. This wide range of opinions develops critical thinking among the population and allows them to make weight decisions when needed. Moreover, media resources provide society with various and different kinds of entertaining content with streaming services and media platforms, allowing individuals to relax.

From the opposite side we have obvious disadvantages that negatively affect society. Firstly, when a group of people control informational sources, it is easy to manipulate public opinion by spreading fake news and misinformation. The final point of such an information monopoly is propaganda, and there are different examples around the world of how propaganda catalyzes conflicts and wars. Secondly, human’s brains become less productive because they are force to maintain an enormous volume of different data, either at work or in private life. Everyday people have to make decisions based the data analysis they get from news, social nets, their neighbors and so on. Finally, the population becomes addicted on getting information through different channels. People are keen on getting hot news and by knowing that fact media giant try to ride this demand. As a result, people are surrounded by hot news every day through different channels, and this trend of uncontrolled information consumption develops some stable restrictions on human long-term memory.

In conclusion, the dependence on the media is crucial in our current world. On the one hand society gains benefits from information. However, on the other hand, there are obvious health and social risks that we all need to take into account.