It is generally agreed that the amount of rubbish created by humans today is a worldwide problem. What do you think are the main causes of this situation? What measures can be used to tackle the problem?

Nowadays, the amount of waste created anthropogenic way become an acknowledged worldwide problem. This situation is primarily caused by overconsumption and lack of effective waste management, which can be effectively mitigated by promoting anti-consumeristic lifestyle and construction of bigger amount of recycling centers and bins to promote people to collect rubbish.

One of the key reasons for the problem is overwhelming consumption of daily-use products. Aggressive marketing and affected by it society forces individuals to buy not only essentials, but also goods they don’t need in the first place. It leads to more discarded goods, since modern products have short lifespan, which makes consumers to replace them often. For example, market of clothes with its “fast fashion” obligates people to buy new pieces of clothing without being worn the old ones, thus generating waste. Additionally, part of the problem lies in ineffective recycling industry, especially its size. Because of insufficient number of recycling centers, they do not manage the coming rubbish to be recycled, which goes to the growing amount of rubbish.

One of the suggested solutions might be promotion [promoting] the rejection from [of] consumerism and changing the production tendency to long-lasting goods instead of mass production. Governments could promote the style of using the same products until their end period of validity without purchasing new goods to replace them. [не совсем понятно как государство может повлиять на людей покупать меньше] An overall demand for every product will decrease, thus reducing the production and minimising the amount of garbage produced. For the lack of effective waste management, the tacklement [one of the solutions] might be the construction of bigger amount of recycling centers. Bigger number of them could manage to recycle the rubbish coming from cities and industries more effectively. More bins with litter sorting provided could promote people to collect and separate one type from another. In the end, litter is collected and sorted on the streets and buildings, therefore optimised for increased amount of recycle centers.

Human-made waste has become a global problem due to overconsumption and poor waste management. It can be reduced by encouraging less consumerism and improving recycling infrastructure.