It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Recognition between right and wrong is a vital ethical issue that adults should teach their kids about.1 I think that I partially agree with the statement, however punishment is a good way to express how the behavior was impolite. Aggressive reactions are not solving problems, therefore they worsen the situation.2

Firstly, penalty upon bad attitude is the best method to clear for children your reason of anger, in addition to that it helps them to figure out the difference between good and bad manners.3 For example, the Irish institution for children’s rights announced that 34% of spoiled kids behaviors changed to better by punishing them.4 Moreover directing people from younger age, helps more in controlling their attitude gradually.5

On the other hand, Schools ought to have strict rules, which it would be better if parents cooperated with them. Plus teaching them good and bad manners, which are more capable to be instilled since earlier age.6 Nevertheless violence is not a solution, like hurting, bulling or rebuking in front of others. For example, privet schools in Europe published a survey in 2010 that compared violent and non-violent reprimand, concluded that rebuked kids returned to mis-behave after penalty.7 Then a psychologist said that positive verbal refinement is more rewarding.8

In conclusion, punishments are important to raise good and well-behaved individuals, nonetheless violence is not the best method. Parents and teachers are responsible of kids attitudes, because of their huge influence they put on youngsters minds and souls.9 11 12