It is important for travellers and business people to understand the cultures they come into contact with, however briefly. What are the main advantages of doing so? What do you think is the main disadvantage of not doing so?

The rise of globalization has brought in a lot of impacts, including the prevalence of intercultural exchanges. It is thus beneficial for individuals either travelling abroad or conducting business to have a grasp of the environment and culture they will find themselves immersed in. On the other hand, ignorance of this issue would prove to be detrimental towards these individuals.

One of the advantages of cultural understanding is the ease of interaction. People often feel a sense of belonging when they meet others who can understand their origins. This therefore creates an environment where both parties can easily communicate without feeling awkward. Moreover, this sense of belonging can result in more willingness to assist the other party, regardless of whether they are travelers or business people. This will provide tourists and businessmen with the best experience possible.

However, refusing to consider these customs can have harmful effects, one of which is the rejection from local people. The ignorance of gestures and customs native to the area can lead to the perception of misbehave and disrespect. This bad manner, accompanied with the already skewed notion of foreigners, can escalate the situation. For instance, the thumbs up gesture, commonly used in Western countries to show approval, can have a rather pejorative interpretation in the Middle East.

In conclusion, understanding customs can help create an enjoyable and safe experience for travellers and business people, whereas going against it can create redundant problems and conflicts with the native citizens.