It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people value the role of local history for schoolchildren more than that of world history. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea because I believe that both have equally significant roles in the lives of young people.

Studying local history is undoubtedly an essential part of the school curriculum, especially during early education. I believe that a thorough understanding of local events helps develop a sense of patriotism. For instance, primary and secondary school children are taught about how their ancestors defended their lands and reclaimed sovereignty. Consequently, these young students take pride in their origins and cherish the lives they enjoy today. Additionally, I think it is not only the students’ privilege but also their responsibility to learn about their own history in order to understand their hometown’s traditions and identity.

From another perspective, learning about world history is equally important as studying local history. Gaining knowledge about global events equips students with a more comprehensive view of life. Lessons about events such as World Wars or feminist movements against the abuse and discrimination of women help learners develop an understanding of various aspects of the world. Furthermore, I believe that being educated about the historical backgrounds of other countries will benefit young learners in their future careers. Students who accumulate knowledge in this area at an early age will possess a valuable advantage when seeking employment in foreign countries, particularly those that place a high value on company culture, like Japan.

In conclusion, I believe that the significance of both domestic and international history cannot be compared to determine which is more necessary, as they both hold equally important meanings for children.