It is neither nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this knowledge-based society, the acquisition of formal qualifications from universities may act as an advantage for the young to have a promising career path. Some argued that providing a numerous number of students with tertiary education is no longer possible and useful. From my personal perspective, I agree with this view for some of these following reasons.

It is largely impossible to allow almost all young people in a country to pursue university education. Prestigious universities aim to equip their students with their high quality facilities and proficient teachers that often take a colossal amount of money to maintain. Students attending these universities need to cover their tuition fees to receive the best equipment which are comparatively prohibitive. Therefore, it is difficult for the underprivileged, especially those living in poverty-stricken areas, to allocate an amount of money annually to afford higher education.

Irrefutably, the majority of the youth following tertiary education may not be useful for themselves and the society. One truth is that the job market is becoming competitive nowadays, which makes it hard for even job seekers. As a result, having a strong college qualification will stand a high chance of getting better occupations. While all students receive the same opportunity to study in universities however, is not feasible for them to find a job, let alone the financial abundance previously so often associated with the acquisition of a tertiary degree. Additionally, implementing policies which encourage all the young to attend university may put a strain on government coffers which leads to tax hikes, budget deficit and reduced welfare.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that obtaining a bachelor’s degree in university will play a vital role in helping students increase their career prospects. However, it is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people.