It is neither nor useful to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people believe that providing tertiary education to most juveniles is not possible and valuable. However, in my opinion, I regard university education as an effective way for the development of young people, but it seems to be impossible to materialize.

Firstly, having formal academic qualifications has a vital role in the future of youth in this knowledge-based society. This means that university education pushes them into an experimental environment to learn new things in many different fields. Furthermore, if a significant number of young people could get admitted to college, it would lead to an increased intellectual class. This condition might bring the vision that human do not have to do physical labor in perpetuity to become realistic.

In contrast, I contend that it is impossible to offer almost all juveniles access to academic university degrees. Financially independent universities have exorbitant tuition which demands students’ families to face a financial predicament. Moreover, in the remote areas of poor countries, higher education is not only a lack of teachers but also a shortage of study stuffs.

That is not so to say that it is not achievable for a high proportion of young people to study university or even utility. If all high school students apply for formal academic degrees, there is an insufficiency of employees in blue-collar jobs. However, this condition could distract society from advanced technology such as automated factories.

In conclusion, I strongly oppose the idea that formal qualifications gained from a prestigious university can make a profit but it is impossible for most youth to achieve it.