It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes, and what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A common scenario that we come across today is that the student population in numerous countries rules out science from the list of subjects that they choose to study. There could be a plethora of causes for this situation, including an unanimous opinion by many average students that science as a subject is far too complex to comprehend. If a significant number of students decide to deprioritize science, then this could have adverse effects on the well-being of society.

An important reason why students dislike science is attributed to the fact that they do not have a clear understanding of the subject. The root cause of this problem is simply due to the fact that a majority of students find the textbooks in the curriculum to be overcomplicated and dull. Also, the old-school methods of teaching using a blackboard and chalk fail to convey the full meaning of scientific principles. Moreover, the number of practical classes provided to students and the access to laboratories in many schools are limited because of the limited availability of resources. The failure to understand basic concepts will make advanced learning of the subject a difficult task.

If students lose interest in science, the number of future scientists will decline, which in turn will hamper the growth of technological advancements, and in fact, there is even a risk of perishment of existing technological developments. The evolution of a society is synchronous with the innovations in the field of science.

It is safe to conclude that without more students finding interest in science, we, as a society, cannot transcend to an advanced level.