It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, fewer students choose to study science. This essay will discuss both the reasons and effects of this issue.

There are many reasons why not enough students choose science subjects for study. First, unlike in the past, today’s pupils can choose whatever subjects they want to study. For example, in the past, parents would choose a science major for their own kids. However, students nowadays have more freedom to choose art as a subject. In addition, many of them struggle with science because it requires complex knowledge. Therefore, many of them prefer studying an easy subject, such as art or music.

If the number of students choosing a science subject has decreased, it has multiple effects on society. Take, for example, if there are not enough science graduates, there will be fewer scientists in the country. As a result, the government will have to bring in foreign experts in science. Furthermore, if there are fewer science degree holders, the research rate will decrease.

In conclusion, some people find it difficult to study science and would prefer to study what they like instead. There will be a low number of scientists and researchers affecting society.