It is often considered that change is more beneficial to people than trying to avoid it and have everything remain the same. Do you think the advantage of change outweighs its disadvantage?

Change is often regarded as more advantageous to people than attempting to resist it and leave everything unchanged. Although making change is viewed as perilous, it is vital for personal growth. In my opinion, the main benefit of change totally prevails over its drawback.

On the one hand, making changes plays an integral role in fostering personal development, because the latter implies exceeding the current level of oneself, which can be achieved solely if changes occur. These changes in a person’s life will provide him or her with a valuable experience, largely contributing to personal growth. This is the case with many people around the globe nowadays. Having made changes in their lives, such as moving to another country or quitting a dull and monotonous job, these people managed to reach the next level of personal growth. This reason and example actively demonstrate why the occurrence of changes plays a prominent role in personal development.

Conversely, making changes is perilous, because everything is put at stake. The adherence to the principle of not making risky changes has been formed in people’ minds naturally, since the unfavorable outcome of a change may come at a high cost. As a result, some people do not want change to occur, due to the fear it may affect their lives adversely. There have been numerous instances, when due to not thoroughly thought decisions, people suffered the loss of their possessions, family and friends. For this reason, the riskiness of making changes may lead to negative consequences.

In conclusion, despite changes might be risky, they can foster personal growth. From my perspective, the merit of making changes completely overshadows its drawback, because of its benefit in self-development.