It is often said that it is best for us to save money, especially in the current economic situation. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages from this?

In the current economic situation, so important to save money is a particularly wise course of action than to spend it whenever it is available. This essay, I personally believe, would bring about more significant advantages that I will outline in my essay.

One of the major disadvantages is the fact that spending money is one way to relax and enjoy life, for instance by shopping or taking holidays, and there is certainly some truth in this. In addition, we usually have no choice but to spend quite a large proportion of our available salary on day to day expenses such as food, housing and transport, and so there is surprisingly little remaining to save anyway. Finally, spending money on products and services boosts the economy and creates employment, and in this sense is a worthwhile action.

On the other hand, other people point out the dangers of reckless spending, for example on frivolous or unnecessary items, which is often encouraged by advertising. Young people in particular are vulnerable to being influenced like this. Furthermore, advocates of saving often point out that, without a reserve of funds for emergencies, unemployment or illness, people are putting themselves at risk of hardship or even bankruptcy. This is especially true in the current economic situation. Lastly on this side of the debate, people emphasise the need to accumulate wealth during one’s lifetime, so that one’s children can inherit money or property which will increase their security and standard of living.

In summary, I believe that the benefits of prudent saving significantly outweigh the drawbacks of reckless spending. Preserving money is an important activity that people should prioritize since it helps protect them from future financial disasters and ensures the long-term financial stability of future generations.