It is often said that technology is isolating people. Others argue that technology connects people across distances and cultures. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are those who argue / hold the view that people are more connected due to modern technology, yet others believe modern technology has caused an increase in levels of isolation amongst people. In my opinion, the technology of the modern era definitely makes people more connected rather than making them more isolated, and in this essay I will analyse and consider the merits of both views

The first idea that comes to a mind, when we are talking about the modern technology, is a communication. It became easier, quicker, more accessible and affordable, a lot more qualitative and convenient. Today, anybody who has a phone or a laptop with an Internet connection can call to almost anywhere without long awaits or delays, and have a great talking with dear people like they are somewhere really near. For instance, students can have regular calls with their families to keep in touch and share their independent life experience journey, or a mother in a business trip can text hew child to reduce worry for their well-being. On the other hand, I believe, that sometimes modern technology can lead to reducing the necessity and aspiration to see each other in person, and as a result, this gives people more loneliness and even isolation. For example, sometimes it’s much easer to have a chat in a social media than try to find out how to see each other offline.

Secondly, the modern technology gives a great opportunity for disabled people stay and present in society, be a part of it. It may be a participation in diverse (different) interest clubs, in discussions and debates about various topics, such ecology, economics, politics, culture, arts, and many others which are interesting and important for some individuals. Nevertheless, the social media culture can be toxic and even dangerous. I believe, that the modern technology is not the root of this problem, it’s just how society works and that is what has being existed even without all modern opportunities.

Thirdly, the argument that complements the first idea perfectly, that the modern technology is not only provide a call type of communication but also people can see each other within video calls. Moreover, send and receive memorable pictures, cute videos, important files or documents, more and more. Although, handwritten letters are always warmer and dearer to the heart, but majorly ,nowadays, people just don’t have enough time to write it, handle all sending processes and wait long weeks until the addressee will get it.

In conclusion, while the modern technology may occasionally make some people feel isolated, it also significantly strengthens connections between people and provides a wide range of opportunities to realize them.