It is often said that technology is isolating people. Others argue that technology connects people across distances and cultures. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The rapid pace of technological advancements contributes to contemporary society in numerous ways. The impact of technology on social life of people has especially intensified as a debate after the pandemic crisis that was experienced worldwide . Some people claim that technology affects people negatively by making them more isolated due to availability of remote occupations and constant ability to get in touch with people. Meanwhile, critics validly point out that the impact is positive as it broadens connections due to

On the one hand, technology diminishes social interactions of people because there is a wide range of remote jobs and constant ability to get in touch without going out. First, it is undeniable that the level of offline occupation in the global job market has decreased significantly. This trend has happened due to technological advancements that create diverse online vacancies. For example, over a century ago, absence of online occupation necessitated working offline. People were obliged to go out and have social interaction. By contrast, in contemporary society technology allows people to work from home on a daily basis, becoming more isolated and lacking social skills and communictation. Moreover, technology reduces levels of communication because of the availability of smartphones and social media forces. People can have busy schedules and lack of time, so the easiest way to talk to their loved once is to call, email or message them. For instance, when people did not have mobiles they had to make time for each other which promoted eye to eye communication and expanded the level of social interactions. Therefore, technology allows people to get in touch without going out and seeing each other in person, promoting a diminished amount of communication.

On the other hand, technology dramatically broadens people’s worldwide connection due to instant communication and professional networking. Technology enables immediate communication across the globe, fostering professional and personal networks, allowing people to collaborate without geographical limitations. For example, if a person wants to learn a new language via technology he is able to make friends with someone who lives miles away from him. This will not only be practical, but also beneficial to have global connections which is very prosperous for the potential career path. Another reason why technology is advantageous in making social connections is due to online job hunting. Technology creates professional networking, helping people build and maintain relationships with people in their field, such as colleagues, employers and industry experts. For instance, such apps as Linkedin create job opportunities, mentorship and knowledge sharing is easier than ever.

Both points of view possess merit and validity. However, the strengths of technology promoting social interactions such as immediate connection and professional networking outweigh the benefits of making people more isolated due to numerous potential profits in career prospects via gained connections.