It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often anticipated that in the digital era, human will have more leisure time thanks to advanced technology. While I understand why the improvement of technology is beneficial for people’s time-saving, I believe that there are a lot of problems related to time-saving due to technology’s development.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that people these days have more time for leisure activities thanks to technology’s improvement. To begin with, some technological devices can replace people in a wide range of tasks such as manual works and household chores. In particular, technological devices such as vacuum cleaner and dishwasher can help people do housework at home, such as cleaning floors and washing dishes. Hence, people can spend that time doing their leisure activities or spending quality time with their families and friends. Moreover, there are various vehicles which is designed automatically can help people saving time during trips. At that time, people can do other activities.

On the other hand, I believe that numerous issues related to time-saving will be brought about because of the amelioration of technology. Firstly, advanced technology can pose a threat to the labour, because many technological devices can replace people in manual works. Hence, this can lead to an increase in unemployment rate, which can make people suffer from economic difficulties. Therefore, they may feel stressed and anxious, instead of feeling relaxed with their free time. Secondly, maintaining an fixing technological devices will take a long time. People may feel struggled about this, on the ground that they have depended heavily on robots, and their skills may be lost. As a result, people may face numerous problems when their devices are broken or maintained.

In conclusion, although I support the view that the amelioration of technology is extremely beneficial for people’s time-saving, I believe that people will also face various issues, according to technological progress.