It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, where the technology industry is rapidly developing, a growing number of individuals predict that with this continual advancement, there will be much more leisure time for people living in the 21st century.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that technology helps decrease work time for individuals. Particularly, artificial intelligence tools are able to perform numerous complicated tasks with desirable results that can even be better than humans’. A pertinent example of this is completing homework, such as writing essays for solving complex mathematical problems, for students, saving much of their time. Even more impressively, Chat GPT 4.0 can even provide essential guidance and business plans for entreupreneurs, making time for them to implement other tasks.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are several reasons why the advancement of technology does not necessarily increase individuals’ free time. Firstly, it is unarguable that employees nowadays still have to deal with heavy work schedules and rarely have time for their hobbies and families. Japan, where the levels of disatisfaction due to the amount of work time still remain at considerable rates, serves as compelling evidence of this tragic situation. Secondly, technology also requires individuals to spend time on learning how to use it in exchange for favorable results. For instance, studying prompting, sifting information and data gathering, which can consume a great deal of time, are a prerequisite for individuals wanting to utilize AI tools in the most efficient way.

In conclusion, although I believe that the thriving of technology can aid in raising individuals’ free time to some extent, I would argue that there is still a long way to go to achieve this outcome and it requires relentless endeavor of users. Also, people should enhance their time management skills with some technological applications in order to have more free time while still guaranteeing work output.