It is thought that advertising has a strong influence on consumer behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that advertising has a great impact on customers’ behavior. I completely agree with this opinion, as nowadays commercials are everywhere, and every single product on markets has its own advertisements; those ads were done by specialists that know how to catch the audience’s attention, either psychologically and by authoritative celebrities.

Firstly, modern marketing techniques are developed enough to engage people in buying products that they advertise. A lot of psychological research had been done, in order to create effective ways of attracting customers. By studying what factors can catch individuals’ attention, marketers use various psychological tricks which really benefit increasing company’s turnover. Several obvious techniques are repetition of the ad and use of emotion. Indeed, ads often use human emotions like happiness, fear or nostalgia to establish a strong connection and trustworthy relationship with the viewers. Moreover, often repeating the ad provides familiarity with the product, and it can lead to a greater number of purchases, influencing customers’ behavior.

Second of all, marketers know that people are more likely to buy goods if it was advertised by someone to whom they can trust. It seems to them that they won’t lie. Additionally, if a person has a role model, a personality that he wants to be similar to, it’s not a secret that one is likely to buy the same products as their models do. Knowing that, advertisers mostly engage popular celebrities, singers and actors to shoot an ad, as they easily can change public behavior.

To conclude, I believe that several powerful factors, such as using psychological strategies for advertisements by someone who is well-known, greatly impact buyers’ behavior.