It is unacceptable that people who work in certain professions, e.g. finance, media, entertainment and sport, are paid such high salaries while others, who do more important jobs in society, are underpaid. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people working in the entertainment, media, and sports are paid higher compared to people who do more important jobs, such as people working in the medical field, economists, teachers, and others. In my opinion, both people working in entertainment, media or other fields should receive an equal salary.

Firstly, media and sports are a strength to the country as they represent the country globally. It is true that world-renowned sportsmen are paid millions of dollars per appearance. For example, sportsmen can’t always compete, which means they can’t win money. They can also get injured during competitions. It’s good that they get paid more than others because they put their health at risk. Even actors can’t always make money. Because they wait and train for years to get a major role.

On the other hand, the government should give more attention to the community working in other fields, such as surgeons, economists, and teachers. Surgeons spend about seven years to become one. However, their salary is comparatively low. Doctors and nurses work extra long hours, but their salary is comparatively less. Similarly, teachers are paid less compared to the work they do. Teachers have to work a minimum of six hours at school, and they also spend extra time checking students’ homework. However, they receive less payment, and in order for them to earn more, they have to do extra classes.

In conclusion, it is true that people in the entertainment, sports, and other fields are paid more than surgeons or teachers. I believe that all the people who perform an important job in society should be paid equally.