Large companies often use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, large companies often use sporting events to advertise their products and services. While some people figure that this has a detrimental effect on sports, I believe that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, this trend can cause several problems. Firstly, the disreputable corporations have a chance to make use of the popularity of sports for their illegal benefits such as promoting inappropriate items, counterfeit goods or gambling websites. As a result, these activities will damage the image of sports and send negative messages to young audiences. In addition, excessive advertising may distract spectators from the sporting competition, instead they focus on purchasing products which will make commercial interests appear more important than athletic achievements.

On the other hand, advertisements play a crucial role in the development of sports. The fund provided by sponsors helps sporting organisations cover the cost of hosting events, improve sporting infrastructures and offer better awards for participants. Therefore, sporting competition can be organised on a larger scale and attract more talented people .Furthermore, advertising through sports events can help enhance public awareness and encourage more people to follow and engage in sports. For example, major brands such as Nike and Dior have collaborated with international tournaments to gain worldwide recognition while they simultaneously contribute massive funds to the growth of sports.

In conclusion, even though commercial advertising in sports may have some negative impact on sports, I believe it is generally beneficial because it provides essential facilities and attracts a large number of audiences.