Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge and experience.

The question of whether people should be educated about the past is quite controversial. Both sides and the reasons why I totally disagree with the given statement will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, as opposed to the argument, learning about the past of our ancestors is crucial for a better world. Educating the society about the past can have great advantages that are for sure outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, people can and should learn from the past and the mistakes that were made, and by drawing conclusions from those errors, we can become better critical thinkers. Secondly, after evaluating the past situations, and answering the ‘How’ and ‘Why’ questions our moral thinking can enhance. Next, acknowledging the past and keeping up with present situations, we can call ourselves informed citizens and can become invaluable members of society. Lastly, just by studying about the past, we can acquire a plentiful of careers, as this major is needed for most universities and colleges. For example, Bill Gates, who is the CEO of Microsoft majored in History.

On the other hand, one clear example illustrates the reason why people do not consider past valuable, and that is boredom. To be more precise, schools only teach students facts and information, but not how to evaluate different situations. For instance, a recent study conducted by British Government in 2017 asked high school pupils whether they fancy studying history, and in the region of 35% of the interviewee stated that they were interested in the material. So, we need to make sure that our generation learns from previous experiences and mistakes.

In conclusion, it is still debatable if learning about the past has any value. Discussion of both sides of the issue was examined in this paper and I do believe that people should learn about History and evaluate it.