Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions.

Given the development of society and the economy worldwide, the number of youngsters committing crimes has increased in many urban areas over the last few years. This essay attempts to shed light on the primary culprits behind this tendency before outlining several feasible steps that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two underlying motives behind the rise in levels of youth crimes in residential areas around the world. Firstly, this phenomenon is attributable to the advancements of mass media and technologies. To explain, the ubiquity of social media platforms, such as YouTube or Facebook, allows teenagers to be routinely exposed to unhealthy lifestyles, such as using illegal drugs. Consequently, this can weaken their personal judgments about drugs, increasing the possibility of committing criminal behaviours, which might contribute largely to juvenile crimes. Furthermore, the existence of uncensored media content is another reason behind the increasing number of young crimes. Deep web perfectly exemplifies this argument. It allows teenagers to have instant access to inappropriate content, especially pornographic images and videos. Therefore, they will get accustomed to violence and several criminal behaviours, harmfully affecting the civilization of society.

To combat this worrying issue, the following remedial measures should be taken by both the governments and parents. One remedy is that national authorities should impose strict drug prevention programs. Thus, those who illegally use drugs to satisfy their addiction should be heavily fined, or even imprisoned. This can act as a deterrent for those who intend to have similar actions, thereby acting as a precursor to a more civilised society. Moreover, parents should carefully supervise what their children’s watching content is. For example, they can install programs and applications that can block the toxic content, such as inappropriate sexual videos or advertisements. What is more, parents should also fully educate their children to develop their cognition and knowledge about these sensitive issues.

To conclude, the development of technology and the illegal use of drugs are the two driving factors behind youth crimes in metropolitan areas, and I strongly contend that governmental bodies and adults should cooperate to address this tendency via several policies.