Life was better when technology was simpler. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an assumption that life has worsened as technology has advanced. I strongly agree with this statement because the development of media has led to a decrease in the moral values of teenagers. Furthermore, technology has created conditions that contribute to health problems.

Firstly, adolescents experience moral decline when they follow negative role models in the media. At this age, young people tend to absorb values of those they admire, even though this can be ethically problematic. For example, musicians from certain genres, such as rap, often convey the idea through media tools that it is not necessary to get an education to be successful. Consequently, such messages may contribute to moral degradation in society, increasing the number of uneducated individuals.

Secondly, many people are suffering from diseases that have arisen due to technological advancements. When scientists make a discovery, they can sometimes promote it to the public without completely testing it. Such discoveries may have unforeseen negative effects. For instance, in the USA, people were trying to increase the octane number of gasoline; one scientist found a solution to this issue by adding lead to compounds. Unfortunately, the increase in lead emissions resulted in a spread of several types of cancer and a decrease in average IQ levels among the USA population.

In conclusion, life was of higher quality when technology was not complex, as there were fewer dubious characters in the media spreading wrong messages and fewer health problems arising from scientific discoveries.