Light pollution is a form of pollution that distress many people, especially in modern cities. What are the causes and what solution can you suggest for bussiness and government to take?

While air pollution, water pollution, and noise pollution are well-recognized threats, the often-overlooked issue of light pollution is a significant concern, particularly in urban areas. This essay aims to shed light on the various causes of excessive nighttime lighting and proposes actionable solutions for businesses and the government to address this urgent issue.

Individuals, businesses, and the government contribute to light pollution in metropolitan areas. First, a massive number of vehicles travel constantly in big cities, and their lights at night can flash into people’s homes and destroy their sleep. Second, advertising boards are another significant cause of this. Shining advertising signs are displayed on every corner by businesses to sell their product. Third, street lamps are being kept on throughout the night in big cities to prevent accidents or crimes, but this involuntarily contributes to light pollution. These lights combined create a shining environment on the street at night, reflecting lights into houses and altering people’s biological clocks.

However, this kind of pollution can be easily prevented through various strategies by everyone. For instance, as street lamps, security, or vehicle lights can not be turned off at the extent of increasing crimes and accidents, each home can implement light insulators such as curtains, opaque materials, etc., which the government can support this by reducing taxes for this kind of product. In addition, businesses should take responsibility as they can turn off those signboards at certain times at night when people are less on the street to reduce light pollution, which can even save them money.

In conclusion, light pollution is caused by advertising lights, vehicles, and street lamps. It can be prevented easily by having light insulation in houses subsidized by the government and turning off advertising after specific hours at night.