Light pollution is a form of pollution that distress many people, especially in modern cities. What are the causes and what solution can you suggest for bussiness and government to take?

Nowadays, pollution is increasing day by day and it is a much-discussed problem. There is a widely-held concern about the overlooked issue of light pollution which is significant in urban areas. This essay will discuss the reasons for the excessive usage of light as well as the measures that should be taken by authorities and businesses to resolve this critical issue in upcoming paragraphs with the help of some suitable examples.

To commence with the former view, why are more lights used in cities? First and foremost, street lamps or lights are used at night in big cities to prevent crimes and accidents on the roads. It seems that individuals face problems while sleeping due to the increased lighting on the streets during the night. Furthermore, another well-known cause is advertising boards. If companies display advertising signs on every corner of modern cities to sell their products, it would greatly enhance light pollution. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University in 2020, revealed that these days more than 50% of companies advertise their product through lighting signs near roads to increase their sales or to earn profit which leads to light pollution. However, there are some strategies that help prevent this problem through government and store policies. The first remedy that might be implemented by leaders is to make a voluntary dark day each every week of the month which would lead to reduced lighting pollution. Along with this, streets should be dark during the daytime and they reduce or use the sharpness of light by using normal lights in street lamps. Moreover, businesses can turn off signboards for certain times when people are on the roads or streets, perhaps to reduce light pollution and it also helps to save their money. For example, a headline published by CNN in 2022, declared in a seminar held in India that, if businessmen use normal signboards to promote their products then it would help reduce light pollution in urban areas.

In conclusion, nowadays, everyone knows the problem of pollution is increasing, despite this, people engage in activities that exacerbate this issue. If management and the public work together, it will help reduce this problem and make the nation healthier.