Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people are keen to explore and live in foreign countries for multiple purposes. Surviving in a country where none of the globally accepted languages are used can be extremely difficult and can cause social and practical problems. I completely agree with this fact and will try to elaborate on it in the essay.

To start with, there are a plethora of social impacts, which can be challenging for an individual. First, language can be a big barrier for anyone who is seeking a job or to live in such countries. For instance, a software engineer who is thinking of migrating to Germany can find it very problematic if they do not have any appropriate knowledge of the German language. It can cause difficulties at work as well as while socializing with the natives. Moreover, any legal or government documents will be in the country’s first language. Therefore, it can result in misunderstandings and also create a big issue.

Talking about practical problems, it can be hard for a person to engage in a friendship with local people because of the language barrier, which can end up in social isolation where a person can suffer from mental illnesses like overthinking, anxiety, and depression. Further, due to the lack of local language proficiency, there can be a huge cultural difference that can become the main reason for a person to not have a better connection with foreign language-speaking countries.

To conclude, I believe one should be properly educated about the country to which they wish to go to avoid such possible problems. By making some efforts, the language barrier can be overcome, which can further solve many complications and make their lives much happier and easier.