Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every country has its own set of languages that they may have acquired through those who took control of the region, or they may have created their own system based on the culture that they followed. Whatsoever may be the case, in the present day each country uses a language that majority of the population are comfortable with. I can personally confide as to the fact that in the modern age language barrier is not as much as a problem than in the pre#technology era. To further illustrate this, the essay talks about the reasons for the same.

On one hand, it is easy for any conversation to get lost in translation for the non-speaker of the language before the age of technology. But over the couple of years, AI models are trained to listen to speeches and translate them in real time while providing a very accurate result. For instance, the technology based company Meta, recently unveiled a brand new pair of smart glasses in collaboration with eyewear giants Ray-Ban. The most prominent feature revealed was that the glasses had in built screens that would only be visible to the user. This results in having a much natural conversation.

On the other hand, I can personally vouch for the fact that living in an area where its residents do not speak a language you are not comfortable with does not cause serious issues. This is because many countries introduce English as a common language to learn and practice right from the pre-school years. This helps individuals to travel across the globe and live with new communities and gradually get used to the surroundings. For example, In Dubai where the major language is Arabic, I have had no problems in conversing with the locals using only English. At the young age that I was, people are more likely to be more understanding and help each other to communicate.

In conclusion, we can say that while it definitely must have been an issue to speak to people with a language barrier, the same cannot be said for the modern age with improvements in technologies and the fact that people are more welcoming than ever.