Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Moving to another country and staying there for living will inevitably lead to different kinds of inconveniences, as the process of assimilation to another culture is considered to cause a lot of pressure. Thus, people who are forced to live in a country where their native language is not a primary one are at risk of facing unpleasant issues with establishing social communication and everyday routine.

First thing to mention is that the scarcity of foreign language competence is responsible for any kind of misunderstandings. Not having a clear idea of what other people around you are talking about is definitely a stressful experience, as you cannot engage in dialogue with someone or just struggle to get the point your native acquaintance is trying to deliver to you. Moreover, unknown slang or dialect are some of the most problematic aspects during conversation, and a person who is not aware of local language standards will just not understand the utterance. For instance, many newcomers in America cannot get used to the fact that citizens ask them “What’s up” and never listen to the answer.

On top of that, poor language knowledge can limit the range of activities you can participate in. Firstly, even a visit to a supermarket in a foreign country is way more challenging than in your hometown due to the specific vocabulary which is extremely difficult to acquire. Secondly, the entire help information outside is also written in a foreign language, which causes significant problems with navigation. For example, one can just wander around the city for several hours without any possibility to get home because the lexis used around the street is not comprehensible for them.

It is clear to see that living in a country where you have no possibility to use your native language has a list of drawbacks, including emergent social and practical issues.