Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed that living in a country that speaks a foreign language can cause serious social obstacles, as well as practical problems. In my opinion, this statement is slightly correct.

Studying a language for a long time doesn’t mean the level of a native speaker has been reached. There are always different accents, slang words and other things that cannot be learned except from living in the foreign country and socialize with the people. That can make life hard until this level is reached. For example, once I was scrolling through social media and found a video made by a British person. I didn’t understand what he was saying because of his accent and the slang words said. However, after a few years using the language, the problem ceases to exist.

Another cause is the difference in cultures. Even if two countries speak the same languages the cultures will be different. For instance, there is a certain word in Arabic that is completely normal in Egypt but is very rude and offensive in Lebanon, even though both countries speak Arabic. If not educated about these matters beforehand that can damage your social status or people’s impressions of you. The results in unfavorable impacts on your personal or work life.

In conclusion, living in a foreign country that speaks a foreign language can make life harsher. Because of the difference in cultures and the local accent and language. However, all of these problems aren’t permanent and will fade with time