Living in country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

In todays world of globalization where it common for people to live in other countries, language barrier is a issue faced by people all around the world. Some argue that inability to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems. I completely agree with the notion. In this essay we will discuss about this emerging problem.

Firstly, living in another country where you have to speak foreign language causes a significant problem related to communication. Difficulty in communicating and expressing ones opinion, a person might struggle to build relationships and participate in community activities often leading to social isolation. For example, a new resident at a area may feel hesitant to talk to other members of the society and miss out social events or gathering give rise to feeling of loneliness. Most of the immigrants are witnesses having problems related to depression and anxiety due to exclusion from friends and society.

Secondly, due to lack of fluency in native language people can’t understand the local cultures and traditions which might result cultural misunderstandings. Language barrier can hinder the understanding of social norms and values. One person might unknowingly violate the norms or etiquette leading to negative perceptions among colleagues. In office setting a foreign employee have hard time learning learning the concept of time and punctuality. For instance, some words or gestures in a certain country may be regarded as rude or vulgar in another country leading to social faux pas.

To conclude, living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can indeed cause serious social problems like communication barrier and cultural misinterpretations. Therefore, the degree to which an individual is affected can vary, but the potential for significant challenges is undeniable.