Living in country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Nowadays, there is an ongoing debate about whether residing in a country where one should communicate in foreign language would result in significant social and practical challenges. As language barrier could in fact affect the communication among people and the ability to find a decent job, therefore I strongly agree with this statement.

Firstly, insufficient language level could lead to loneliness. This trend could affect various aspects of ones life, especially the social one. Take, for instance, individuals who recently moved from Ukraine to Hungary and left all of their friends and acquaintances back home. Many Hungarians don’t speak other foreign languages, whereas Hungarian is considered one of the hardest languages to lear. The inability to speak it would lead to feelings of isolation and could even cause depression, as humans are social animals who require communication and interaction with each other in order to live a happy and fulfilled live.

Secondly, the ability to speak the language of the country one resides in is crucial for finding a job that would cover the living wage. Although technology and the Internet provide our generation with online opportunities, for the majority of professions it is still challenging to find an online job outside the country they live in. For example, where doctors move to other countries, and of the integral requirements to continue their practice is a language test. Without a successful test result, their career opportunities in foreign countries are limited.

In conclusion, some people believe that living in a place where one should be able to communicate in a foreign language could lead to various problems including social and practical one’s. As insufficient language knowledge could lead to misunderstanding and trouble with making new relationships, and additionally could affect job opportunities, therefore I strongly agree with the opinion.