local languages hold more importance when it comes to learning

Languages are a way of easy communication among human beings. Out of the million available languages, English is most commonly accepted language in the world. While using English reduces communication barriers for international people, I mostly agree that local languages hold more importance when it comes to learning. It allows for the evaluation of the changes in a culture by preserving it for centuries. It also opens more job opportunities in local areas.

One main reason for learning local languages instead of English is that it can help evaluate changes. This is significant for research purposes as the evolution of a language can be observed over decades, or even centuries. It can help us in deducing the thought processes and struggles of the people from centuries ago by comparing the changes. Indeed, it would not be an utterly accurate analysis. It can, however, provide us with significant findings. For example, in the year 2021, use of the word “unalive” instead of “suicide” depicts the action taking against the increase in rate of suicides caused due to overuse of the word. Therefore, if evaluated closely, it can be a major help for research.

Another reason is increase in availability of job opportunities. This is important as nations are facing great economic issues. One might say that English creates as many opportunities as any other language. But this is not always true, considering that most of the people between the age of 60-100 prefer local languages over any other. Additionally, this age group accounts for about 50% of our population. There are thousands of jobs that deal with this age group. If an 80 year old man was asked to buy grocery in English, when he is fluent in Chinese, he would not be able to buy it. Problems like these will inevitably increase if local languages are replaced.

In conclusion, learning local languages is more important than learning English. It helps in research purposes and creates job opportunities.