Many argue that with increasing globalization, it is crucial for all university students to study abroad for at least one semester to broaden their perspectives. Others contend that studying abroad is not essential and that students can gain sufficient global awareness through other means. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some opine that it is important for students to study overseas to get a global point of view, while others debate that it is beneficial to lend a hand in the growth of one’s own community. Both these contrary views will be discussed in this order, and my personal view is expressed in the coda.

On one hand, in recent years, a growing number of students have migrated abroad to pursue higher education, as it exposes them to diverse cultures, perspectives, and education systems. This experience not only broadens their horizons but also strengthens their professional development. For instance, a friend of mine, who is an aeronautical engineer, migrated to Germany to learn advanced techniques used for propulsion. A combination of the ideas learnt from his country and the expertise gained from abroad education helped him in developing a cutting-edge engine for a jet.

On the other hand, it is easy to understand why some people think that students should concentrate on their community’s development because they vehemently believe that it contributes to the development of one’s own country rather than others. A significant proportion of students now migrate to various countries, some of them settle abroad while others return. This causes a deficit of best talent in the local community, hindering national development. This trend is particularly evident among under-developed countries and countries in crisis due to lack of opportunities and suitable conditions. For instance, a friend of mine who graduated in Bachelors of Pharmaceutical gave up looking for chemist opportunities in Congo after a year long search, which prompted her to migrate to the United States of America.

Having discussed both the contrary views, in my opinion, I believe imparting knowledge from overseas education and using it in the advancement of the local community is beneficial.