Many believe advertisements influence what people buy. Do you agree or disagree?

In our contemporary society people are easily influenced by advertisements through television, social networks and public spaces. I strongly agree that consumers have lost their ability to detect what is actually essential for them.

Nowadays huge companies, especially luxury brands, such as Gucci, Balenciaga and others aggressively promote their products. They use manipulative techniques and frequently mislead consumers. One of the most widespread techniques is using celebrities for advertising campaigns. Global stars persuade common people that the product which they promote is a necessity and everyone must have it. Usually this type of advertising is the most profitable for the corporations. People truly believe that if their favorite celebrity uses this product it means that they can trust and rely on this brand, but often consumers remain disappointed.

There is no doubt in my mind that advertisements are directly intertwined with peoples “needs”. This issue also leads to other issues like overconsumption, wastefulness and others. We should be more responsible and have a better understanding about how businesses are working. If we are conscious about our spending habits it can turn the world in a better direction.

In conclusion, I can definitely say that people are not conscious about their spendings and are easily influenced by advertisements. This issue is actuallybigger than it can be seen. We as consumers should have a wider understanding of how it influences us and our families. The idea of advertisement complaints is not about just promoting a product, it is about increasing profit and firms don’t care about social responsibility.