Many believe advertisements influence what people buy. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertising plays a significant role in consumer behavior, while it drives economic growth by informing people about products , it is criticized because of its manipulation of individuals’ desires. I firmly agree that advertisements on social media, newspapers, and television often lead consumers to unnecessary purchases and influence their buying behaviour.

On the one hand, advertising is produced to create a sense of urgency and assist people in discovering suitable products, but corporations have shifted this purpose. Advertisements now manipulate public opinion. For example, phone companies often advertise slightly updated models as essential, and customers feel that they need updated – even when their current phones work perfectly.

On the other hand, advertising presents unrealistic expectations and persuasive methods to attract the public; especially these misleading advertisements have a huge influence on children. Corporations can easily manipulate young minds, through colourful imagery, catchy jingles and cartoon characters. However, these attempts may cause harmful outcomes for consumers. For example, fast-food companies use animated characters to advertise their products, which can lead to excessive consumption of junk food.

In conclusion, media and advertising exert a profound influence on individuals’ thoughts, behaviours, and social interactions. Although they play vital roles in driving economic growth and fostering social connectivity, they also pose significant risks if left unchecked. To fully harness their advantages while mitigating potential harm, it is crucial for societies to promote transparency, uphold ethical standards, and invest in media literacy education.