Why do people often avoid doing what they know would improve their lives?

For people it could be really hard to quit their long-term habits by trying to improve their quality of life. It’s also called a comfort zone, a state of mind when a person stays in the same position for a long time. However, looking back at my own experience, I hesitate to agree that this mindset is comfortable to live with.

One day a person could realise that there’s a need to move forward beyond the boundaries of a such called zone. Otherwise, it would impede his/her potential to become better. The point seems feasible and logically proven to act in that direction. Nevertheless the fears of the unknown future are often felt more realistically than ambitions built on a dream.

In my opinion, it’s a huge deception to think that getting out of the comfort zone is detrimental whereas the way to make no changes is a good one to choose. If the previous generations had decided to do nothing with their lives, we wouldn’t have discovered many of the things that seem usual for us nowadays.

To conclude, it’s natural for a human being to feel nervous before facing uncertainty. On the other hand, we should master the ability of how to distinguish a real risk from an exaggerated one.