Many people believe that unpaid community service (for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to young children) should be a compulsory part of high school programmes.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that non-paid community services such as volunteers in charity, improving the neighborhood, or being mentored to younger children should be a mandatory part of high school curriculum. In my opinion, it would be useful for majority of students. One of the reasons why I agree, real-life skills that children acquire in such program would help them to learn important life values. In our modern world, most of the young people tend to be selfish and live without any life values. Working as a volunteer in charity gives them unique opportunity to see people with serious health issues, poor families and orphans. Such an experience leads to value simple but vital things in life, namely family, food, and the opportunity to study in good conditions.

Another reason is that curriculum that blends academic and practical skills makes them a strong worker in any field in the future. Developing the communication between neighbors or teaching what you know to the younger generation influences people’s soft skills such as empathy, harmony, and cooperation. To give an example, if the neighbors have an argument with each other, you will solve this problem without panicking as a real leader, which results in managing proficiency.

On the other hand,unpaid community services causes busy schedule, which have affect academic performance. Students would not have enough time to do their homework properly and to prepare for exams thoroughly, resulting in lower grades.

In conclusion, despite the fact that implementing community services to school program has several drawbacks, I firmly believe students acquire valuable knowledge and makes them be professional worker in the future.