Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

The development of digital technology has undoubtedly changed people’ lives significantly. However, the fact that whether the impact it has on our social lives is positive or negative remains a hot debate. In my view, the relationship among people would be improved only if proper usage is ensured.

On the one hand, modern technology does connect people together in some ways. Firstly, the advent of electronic devices such as smart phones and computers allows individuals to make friends and contact with each other more easily regardless of geographic barriers. This can be seen in the way that two friends in two spheres on Earth can now text and conduct phone calls via such devices anytime they want. Moreover, there are also countless apps and social media that provide people with free video calls and messages, like Facebook, Messengers or Zalo, enabling them to ask for and keep in touch with their loved ones more often. This frequent interaction and communication, thus, can bring people together and foster a stronger bond among family members and in society.

Nevertheless, there are also several drawbacks that technological advancement can make our relationship more vulnerable. The unresistable temptation coming from online platforms can make users addictive. Posts of friends and colleagues being constantly updated, for example, can draw people’s attention and as a result, making them spend less time for their family and engage less in real-life social activities. Not only that, many youngsters nowadays are able to derive pleasure from online games and virtual relaxation, leading them end up spending more time alone and shying away from social interaction. According to a statistic published on The Guardian in 2023, the number of children diagnosed with autism has increased in an unprecedented rate after the long-time exposure to virtual pursuits. Therefore, it can be inferred that unproper usage of technology can result in relationship deterioration.

In conclusion, I believe that although advanced technology can act as a tool and an ideal place for people to better their connection, we should control our using time to avoid its counter-effects