Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Some people advocate that the technologies of today contribute to the togetherness of people, whereas others consider it to separate us. While advanced devices might not benefit live communication directly, I am convinced that they have the potential to connect people strongly.

On the one hand, it might be argued that contemporary technologies do not directly benefit people’s live communication. The explanation can be found in the fact that there is an increasing number of individuals who prefer gadgets rather than face-to-face conversation. Psychologists explain that technological possibilities like virtual worlds, social media, or marketplaces meet a demand for entertainment and comfort perfectly. In contrast, reality has no convenience and usually contains stress due to numerous slow-moving processes. It must be considered that the most powerful and greatest invention is the internet. As an instance, the spreading phenomenon of internet addiction contributes to social isolation. Any internet user who has, for example, Instagram or TikTok, often becomes addicted to easy dopamine and entertainment unconsciously. However, I disagree with the argument above, as there are plenty of defense tools, provided by the same apps, like device control and various functions to set a limit on time. Moreover, mentioned messengers are the fastest way to communicate with lovers, families, and friends.

On the other hand, the latest technologies have the power to connect people from the most distant places of the world. The global access to any information or even person can explain this power. Talking about the internet, we have created a whole society within it, and now it is developing with millions of communities and associations. As an example, there is the BBC World Service, with a program called Crowd Science. A person from any country can send their question to this website, and researchers, again, from the whole world, will answer it in the podcast. Thanks to such great technology, enthusiasts and professionals are united by hunting for knowledge, enhancing their literacy. I firmly support this perspective because I believe that, apart from technologies’ dangers, their genuine purpose should be to help people to be closer to each other.

In conclusion, while present technologies may not have live communication benefits, they have given people the power to keep in touch and, therefore, should be developed in this direction.