Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In today’s world, using technology is inevitable, and everyone needs it. Critics argue that it creates a wedge between individuals, while the opposition believes it connects us. Unfortunately, on a daily basis, we witness the addictive usage of devices such as mobile phones to withdraw from social situations. This could be due to the upbringing of these individuals as well as the stimulating nature of applications and webpages that can be accessed on these devices. On the contrary, the introduction of phones, tablets, computers, and TVs gave us incredible and immediate access to numerous different cultures and people that we may or may not know.

In more detail, there is an undeniably excessive use of technology, especially by many of our youth. For instance, when we observe a young group of friends or parents with their toddlers eating out at a restaurant, we can almost always see that instead of engaging in conversations together, their eyes are glued to their screens. It’s an addiction. Often, this starts at a very young age, when parents choose to distract their toddlers using tablets and TV shows instead of putting in more effort to encourage them to partake in active hobbies that enrich their active minds. The longer we spend looking for companionship with those devices, the harder it becomes for us to feel connected to those around us.

On the other hand, we cannot ignore how technology gave us access to the internet, a web that keeps us connected with anyone at any given time. This was a revolutionary advancement, family members residing on opposite continents could text, call, or even see one another in a matter of seconds, when only a few decades ago, sending them a mere message would take days or even weeks. Having an online presence allowed people from opposite ends of the world, who would have never met otherwise, to get to know each other, allowing for much-needed cultural harmony.

To conclude, it’s true that new-age devices have a growing negative impact on our communities, but despite that, I believe that technology is a powerful tool that encourages humans to broaden their social circles by forming world wide connections. By focusing on educating everyone on how to properly regulate their usage, we can effectively minimise the negative aspects.