Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Many believe that the latest technology has brought people closer, while others think that it has led us to be further apart. In this essay, I will first discuss how advanced technology has fostered togetherness, including global connectivity and distant communication. Secondly, I will outline how it has separated people. In my view, we should not rely on technology too much.

One of the major contributions of the internet to communication is enhanced global connection. It enables us to interact with people all over the world, thereby enhancing the exchange of ideas and cultures. For instance, through worldwide interactions, ways to solve global issues like climate change can be communicated. As a result, we are brought together, and now many countries have become a global village. Additionally, the use of video calls, emails, and instant messaging helps us contact people far from us. For instance, friends or family members working in different states in America can maintain their friendship and love through constant communication. As a result, they bridge the gap of the distance between them.

21st-century technology has created a gap between people since it does not encourage authenticity. Most people fake who they are, especially on social media platforms. It is, therefore, difficult to have real connections. For instance, videos of a person that are uploaded on the internet are mainly the best ones. These do not give a clear picture of the person; therefore, genuine friendships are rare on the internet. Additionally, overreliance on the internet has driven people apart. Most people are always on their gadgets instead of engaging in social conversations. For instance, if you happen to pop into a staff room, workers are usually quiet on their phones. They no longer gossip or enjoy conversations during their free time.

In conclusion, although technology has globally connected people and also helped them keep in touch, it has also reduced true friendships and physical socialization. In my opinion, we should appreciate technology for bringing us closer but should not entirely rely on it for personal relationships.