Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

In this day and age, vaccines can be used to prevent a lot of illnesses in children. It is thought that law should be imposed to obligate parents to immunize their children while other people believe that choosing to immunize children is a decision the parents can make do or not. In my opinion, with plenty of benefits that vaccination has, it should be made mandatory for every child instead of letting allowing their parents to refuse it.

On the one hand, parents believe that vaccination is not only inefficient and doesn’t have any effect on their children but also brings other ailments to the children as well as weakens them. However, this may not be true as all the vaccines being used nowadays are certified by health organizations in every country and the only thing that happens to some of the kids is anaphylactic shock, which is natural and harmless. Nevertheless, there are still a small number of unfortunate situations that happen with children with poor health sometimes, but it can be avoided if the children have medical checks before they are injected with vaccines.

On the other hand, immunization is undeniably vital to children for several reasons. Among all the ailments, children are the most vulnerable due to their immature immune systems. Moreover, once a child comes down with an infectious disease like chickenpox or dengue, other kids around them can get them as well unless they have been vaccinated. Furthermore, hundreds of children, especially in remote areas, died every year as a result of those diseases, otherwise their health is badly affected.

In conclusion, I think as long as the government improves its vaccination system, it can bring in laws that make immunization in children compulsory.