Many cities are facing serious air pollution problems. What are the causes of this problem, and what measures can be taken to reduce it?

Air pollution is a crucial issue in many urban areas of the world. It negatively affects both the environment and human health and breathing systems. Several factors contribute to air pollution and addressing it can involve participation at 3 different levels: governmental, local and individual.

A fraction of air pollution originates from natural sources such as volcanic eruptions and wildfire but most air pollution comes from human-made activities. Among human made air pollution, one major cause is the burning of fossil fuels. In transportation and industries, numerous fossil fuels are being consumed and as a result, these actions release more carbon dioxide and other harmful pollutants into the atmosphere. Another significant cause is deforestation that results from an increase in human population. Since many forests are destroyed to extend agricultural areas for more food and modern urbanization, these tree removals lead to deforestation. Accordingly, there is more carbon dioxide and other harmful gases without the trees.

In combating air pollution, the natural sources cannot be controlled whereas human-made activities can be controlled. The government can improve public transportation powered by clean energy and encourage people to use private cars less. The government can also invest in advancements in renewable energy industries. Local authorities can often measure and maintain the air quality and limit the combustion rate of fossil fuels. On a smaller scale, each individual can turn off the TV or any electrical devices when not in use to prevent unnecessary energy loss. These small efforts help make big changes to reduce air pollution.

In conclusion, while air pollution is a crucial issue with multiple causes, both governments and individuals play important roles in effectively minimizing air pollution. By implementing the controls, people can preserve air quality for future generations